Examples of Foods You Can Eat on a Gluten-Free Diet

· 3 min read
Examples of Foods You Can Eat on a Gluten-Free Diet

The gluten-free diet eliminates gluten from your diet. Gluten is a group of proteins found in wheat, rye, and barley. A person with gluten intolerance cannot eat these foods. However, it is possible to have a gluten-free diet without avoiding all of these foods. Here are some examples of foods that you can eat.

Processed foods

It is essential to read the labels on processed foods. Many contain wheat or corn and are not gluten-free. Even vitamins and supplements can have gluten. You can also find gluten in beauty and personal care products.

Meats

If you're following a gluten-free diet, you may be looking for a meat substitute. You can buy pre-packaged or countertop meats from a reputable company. These companies adhere to premium standards and have quality control teams that ensure that all their products are gluten-free. However, it would be best if you carefully read these products' labels. Many will have gluten-containing flavourings, often overlooked in a gluten-free diet.

Bread

If you're concerned about gluten, there are several gluten-free flours to choose from. Cassava flour, psyllium husk, or guar gum are all excellent options. They are easy to digest and can be substituted for wheat flour in most recipes. Coconut flour is another alternative and has a similar texture. It's a good option for baking bread.

Snacks

Gluten-free snacks are increasingly available in grocery stores. However, they are often more expensive than regular snacks. It is essential to read labels carefully before buying any gluten-free snack. To ensure you're buying a gluten-free product, check for GFCO certification on the packaging.

Beverages

The market for gluten-free beverages is very competitive, with domestic and multinational players competing for market share. Leading players have focused on product innovation and development to boost the market growth. They have also pursued mergers, acquisitions, and partnerships to expand its product portfolio. For instance, Carlsberg U.K. recently announced that its San Miguel beer range would be gluten-free and feature a clean label.

Cereals

Gluten-free cereals are a great option if you're trying to reduce sugar intake. According to the American Heart Association, adults should limit their daily sugar intake to 25 grams for women and 36 grams for men. Just one bowl of cereal and half a cup of low-fat milk provide one-third of this amount. There are four popular types of gluten-free cereals that you can choose from.

Nuts

Nuts are healthy snacks packed with calories, fibre, and nutrients. They are also versatile and have a long shelf life. They make an excellent snack for people with gluten intolerance and wheat allergies. However, some people have questions about whether nuts contain gluten. Depending on the amount of gluten present, consuming nuts may cause headaches and bloat. It can also aggravate symptoms of celiac disease. If you're unsure if nuts contain gluten, check the packaging.

Fruits

Many different types of fruits and vegetables are gluten-free. Fruits and vegetables that contain no gluten are generally the best choices for celiacs. These foods are often very nutritious and full of antioxidants. Examples of gluten-free fruits and vegetables include bananas, berries, pears, apples, and celery. Vegetables can be tricky since most are coated in sauces that contain gluten. However, they are gluten-free if you keep them plain and unsweetened.

Vegetables

When choosing a gluten-free diet, fresh fruits and vegetables are essential components. These foods contain no gluten and deliver an array of nutrients and vitamins.

Fruit juices

Whether trying to avoid gluten or simply improving your diet, fruit juices are a good option. Most fruit juices are 100% free of gluten and are even GMO-free. Just make sure to check the label to make sure.